Hi! I'm your first Markdown file in StackEdit. If you want to learn about StackEdit, you can read me. If you want to play with Markdown, you can edit me. Once you have finished with me, you can create new files by opening the file explorer on the left corner of the navigation bar.
Synchronization is one of the biggest features of StackEdit. It enables you to synchronize any file in your workspace with other files stored in your Google Drive, your Dropbox and your GitHub accounts. This allows you to keep writing on other devices, collaborate with people you share the file with, integrate easily into your workflow... The synchronization mechanism takes place every minute in the background, downloading, merging, and uploading file modifications.
There are two types of synchronization and they can complement each other:
The workspace synchronization will sync all your files, folders and settings automatically. This will allow you to fetch your workspace on any other device.
To start syncing your workspace, just sign in with Google in the menu.
The file synchronization will keep one file of the workspace synced with one or multiple files in Google Drive, Dropbox or GitHub.
Before starting to sync files, you must link an account in the Synchronize sub-menu.
You can open a file from Google Drive, Dropbox or GitHub by opening the Synchronize sub-menu and clicking Open from. Once opened in the workspace, any modification in the file will be automatically synced.
You can save any file of the workspace to Google Drive, Dropbox or GitHub by opening the Synchronize sub-menu and clicking Save on. Even if a file in the workspace is already synced, you can save it to another location. StackEdit can sync one file with multiple locations and accounts.
Once your file is linked to a synchronized location, StackEdit will periodically synchronize it by downloading/uploading any modification. A merge will be performed if necessary and conflicts will be resolved.
If you just have modified your file and you want to force syncing, click the Synchronize now button in the navigation bar.
Note: The Synchronize now button is disabled if you have no file to synchronize.
Since one file can be synced with multiple locations, you can list and manage synchronized locations by clicking File synchronization in the Synchronize sub-menu. This allows you to list and remove synchronized locations that are linked to your file.
Publishing in StackEdit makes it simple for you to publish online your files. Once you're happy with a file, you can publish it to different hosting platforms like Blogger, Dropbox, Gist, GitHub, Google Drive, WordPress and Zendesk. With Handlebars templates, you have full control over what you export.
Before starting to publish, you must link an account in the Publish sub-menu.
You can publish your file by opening the Publish sub-menu and by clicking Publish to. For some locations, you can choose between the following formats:
After publishing, StackEdit keeps your file linked to that publication which makes it easy for you to re-publish it. Once you have modified your file and you want to update your publication, click on the Publish now button in the navigation bar.
Note: The Publish now button is disabled if your file has not been published yet.
Since one file can be published to multiple locations, you can list and manage publish locations by clicking File publication in the Publish sub-menu. This allows you to list and remove publication locations that are linked to your file.
StackEdit extends the standard Markdown syntax by adding extra Markdown extensions, providing you with some nice features.
ProTip: You can disable any Markdown extension in the File properties dialog.